Peace With Every Step

Day 4 – Morning only
1003817_10151724239627743_1879856857_n
We visited St. George’s Cathedral, where Archbishop Desmond Tutu presided and who was instrumental in the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission. I wondered how many hours might he have prayed, rallying courage to continue and wisdom to lead? I have wondered what difference believing makes for me as I am confronted with the atrocities that humans inflict upon each other. I still hold on to hope in this mystery. We are not created for evil in my opinion. We are beings of the Light, of goodness, of joy.

1267_10151724240292743_16158434_nI walked the labyrinth; my mind focused on peace with each step I took. Tutu’s words come back to me: Without forgiveness, there is no future. Ubuntu means “My humanity is inextricably bound up in yours.” “A person is a person through other persons.” This great man assisted in building a peaceful nation. He truly lived out the ubuntu spirit.

I wonder if I can understand this great mystery of being inextricably bound to the other, to the stranger, to the poor, to the least of these, to the perpetrator and the victim. I think of the Jesuit motto of being a person for others. It is the same essence really. Our lives are not our own.

What will the rest of this trip bring? This quiet time in the labyrinth and cathedral has been a blessing.

Peace…with every step.

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

